Chicken Tortilla Soup (Crockpot Version)

I started a food blog mainly to expand my horizons in the culinary universe, so for my first post I decided to pull out the good ol’ crockpot and actually use it. Frankly, it took me a good fifteen minutes to find the hefty contraption and I’m pretty sure I could count the adventure as my cardio for the day. After I rummaged through the basement and my cabinets, I finally found my crockpot that I’ve only used once.

Yes, once, and it was for one of those gross, frozen crockpot meals that’s found in the freezer section of your trusty local supermarket. I guess it can be said that I’m a impulse buyer and I figured it would come in handy one day. Well, whaddya know, I was right.

Image

Even though it’s March, it’s still pretty cold in my little corner of the world – not surprising at all, let me tell you. I wanted something that would last a couple of days and also warm me up while the weather changes from sunny to heavy snow in a matter of five minutes. I was looking through other food blogs, came across the recipe for Chicken Tortilla Soup and found it fitting. I’m a fan for Mexican flavors and my mouth may or may not have been watering as I looked through the photos.

Image

So, with my own little twists I created my version of Chicken Tortilla Soup. I just diced and poured everything into the crockpot, gave it a good mix, set it on high and left it alone. Though, I did get a little distracted after about the two hour mark. The aromas from this dish were so tantalizing, and the whole house smelled like a Mexican restaurant when I served it. As long as you freshly grate your cheese (I used Monterey Jack, Sharp Cheddar also works great) and top with broken up tortilla chips, you are golden! Well, anyways, here’s how I made it…

Image

Image

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Adapted from Table For Two

Yields: 8 – 10 servings / Prep Time: 15 minutes / Cook Time: 4 hours

Ingredients:

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken thighs

1 15 oz. can of sweet whole corn kernels, drained

1 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes

4 cups chicken stock

1 cup leeks, chopped

1 medium onion, chopped

1 large green pepper, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

2 tbsp store bought Chili seasoning

1 tbsp Sriracha Sauce (optional)

1 1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1 tsp. pepper

Monterey jack cheese, shredded

Tortilla chips

Instructions:

1. Combine chicken, corn, tomatoes, onion, green pepper, and garlic along with the chili seasoning, salt and pepper in the crockpot. I like using chili seasoning because it has the chili powder, cumin, onion and garlic powder all combined in one simple package.

2. Pour in chicken stock, and mix again. Add the Sriracha sauce in during this step so it combines well into the liquid. Feel free to add more, less, or none of this depending on your heat preferences.

3. Turn crockpot on high and leave alone for 3 1/2 hours. After take out the thighs and shred them with two forks. Then reinsert the shredded chicken and the cup of leeks back into the crockpot. Cook for another 1/2 hour.

4. Serve with shredded cheese on top and crushed tortilla chips.

Enjoy!

This entry was published on March 12, 2013 at 1:25 pm. It’s filed under Crockpot, Soup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

