Avocado Salsa

There are always those classic stories that anybody can share and find someone else with a tale alike. Today will be the one on how my mother always made me try new vegetables when I was younger. There was always a wide array of fruits and veggies at my house, since my dad liked to frequent the farmer’s markets every Saturday. He’d always come home struggling to handle all the bags that held vegetables I wasn’t so keen on.

Image

I remember one time, my mom made beets and I automatically disliked it from the vibrant red color it held. I absolutely despised okra because of the milky substance it oozed, and always refused to eat my spinach. Which is kind of ironic, because spinach is my favorite leafy green now. But one day, my mom introduced me to the avocado, and this time I actually liked it. She would always make a salsa from it that she would top bruschetta with or eat with tortilla chips. When I started cooking, I put my own spin on it and what’s funny is that my mom actually likes my version better.

IMG_9664

My mom started with the base of red onions, cilantro and avocado, but I added some extra ingredients to pull out the flavors. I find that when this sits in the fridge overnight it tastes even better, since all the flavors blend together. I absolutely love the combination of these ingredients, and they can certainly be varied to fit your own tastes.

IMG_9676

I also learned a little trick from my favorite Food Network host, Giada De Laurentiis on how to cube an avocado without having to worry about the mess. Simply cut around the seed of the avocado and twist to separate. Then take the seed out and while holding the avocado in the palm of your hand, carefully made vertical and horizontal cuts with your knife for your desired cube size. I personally like to make the salsa chunky, so I cut the cubes bigger. After that, simply take a spoon and slip it between the flesh and skin and scoop out that delicious goodness!

Avocado Salsa

Yields: 8 – 10 servings / Prep Time: 15 minutes

Ingredients: 

2 Large Hass Avocados, cubed as per directions above

1/4 medium red onion, diced

3 – 4 tbsp cilantro, chopped

1/2 of a lime, squeezed

2 tsp garlic powder (optional)

2 pinches crushed red pepper flakes (optional)

Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions: 

1.) Combine red onion, cilantro and avocados together in a bowl.

2.) Add garlic powder, salt and pepper, and red pepper flakes. Squeeze lime over avocado mixture. Combine and enjoy!

This entry was published on April 7, 2013 at 5:31 pm. It’s filed under Appetizer, Snack and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

