Roasted Red Pepper & Basil Hummus

Whenever I go to dinner parties or gatherings with friends, I can’t help but go to the food table first. Forget the friends! (I’m just kidding…slightly…) I’m always looking for new recipes and innovative ways to make savory, delicious dishes. There’s nothing that I love more than sharing recipes with friends. Food always brings everyone together, no matter what.

Image

I once went to a birthday party of a close friend who has the same tastes in food as me, and likes to try out new recipes. Now, at this time, I was just getting into the whole hummus trend. I was only eating the store bought kind, like Sabra or the generic supermarket brand. I mean, I loved how it tasted, but I didn’t appreciate the preservatives that went along with it. So anyways, at this party there were pieces of french bread on a platter with this absolutely flavorful hummus. I couldn’t get enough!

Image

Thus, she shared this recipe with me, and I’ve been making this hummus ever since. I usually double the batch because my family always seems to finish it in less than three days. This way, it lasts at least a week, sometimes more. The hummus goes great with veggies, crackers, bread, and my favorite is in my sandwiches. It brings an ordinary turkey sandwich to a whole new level, let me tell you.

Image

I also like my hummus extra garlic-ky because I’m trying to ward of vampires and all that, so I usually use 2-3 large cloves. You can add any amount that you want to satisfy your desires though. I also use a tablespoon of balsamic for the taste as well, but again, it depends on your preference. That’s the beauty of cooking, you can do whatever you want! As Rachel Ray says, be your own chef!

Roasted Red Pepper & Basil Hummus

adapted from Cooking Light

Yields 8 (1/4 cup) servings 

Ingredients:

1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
1 (16-ounce) can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
1 (7-ounce) bottle roasted red bell peppers, rinsed and drained
1 large garlic clove
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Instructions:

Place first 5 ingredients in a food processor; process until smooth. With processor on, slowly add oil through food chute. Stir in salt and black pepper.

This entry was published on May 3, 2013 at 9:47 pm. It’s filed under Appetizer, Snack and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

