Buffalo Chicken Wonton Cups

In my house, we like everything to be hot and spicy. I guess this is no surprise because of my Sri Lankan roots, but hey, anything’s good with a little hot sauce! There’s always two or three types of hot sauce sitting around, one of them always being a bottle of Sriracha or Frank’s Red Hot. I always put hot sauce on my sandwiches and of course my eggs, basically anything that needs a little extra kick. It’s not hard to tell from my food blog, but I always need some savory (and spicy!) in my life. So, naturally I found a recipe featuring just this!

Image

I believe I found this while scrolling through the “Food & Drink” section of Pinterest, a site I often frequent because there’s always a new and innovative recipe to be found. I made a number of changes to this recipe to accommodate what I had on hand, though. I find myself finding a lot of other fellow food bloggers on the site too, and it’s always nice to test out recipes that they’ve posted.

Image

Now, the amount of heat associated with the recipe isn’t that hot…at least in my opinion. So if you want to reduce the heat even more or pour the whole bottle in, feel free! Cooking is always about adjusting to how you want it, after all. I ended up adding a lot more hot sauce than the recipe called for, and even some crushed red pepper to jack up the heat.

Image

Buffalo Chicken Wonton Cups

adapted from Gimme Some Oven

Yields ~24 cups / Prep Time: 20 – 30 minutes / Bake Time: 5 – 10 minutes 

Ingredients:

2-3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 Tbsp. olive oil
1/2 tsp. smoked paprika
1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
24 wonton wrappers
1 Tbsp. butter, melted
1/2 cup cayenne hot sauce (Frank’s “Red Hot” is what I used)
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup blue cheese dressing (I used Marie’s Super Blue Cheese dressing)
3 scallions, sliced thinly

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350F degrees.

1.) Mix together the smoked paprika, chili powder, and crushed red pepper flakes. Brush chicken breasts with olive oil, and then sprinkle evenly with spice mix and rub in until well covered. (Wash your very well hands after! You don’t want to rub your eyes and feel the wrath of chili powder.) Place in a baking dish and cook for 20-30 minutes, or until the center is no longer pink and the juices run clear. Remove chicken and let cool, then shred.

2.) While the chicken bakes, place the wonton wrappers into 24 baking cups. (I used regular sized ones meant for muffins, so they came out wider, if you use mini ones, it’ll come out more petite and create a more vertical shaped shell.) Press the wrappers carefully in so they fit along the sides of the cups, make sure they stay open or else you won’t be able to fill them! Bake for 5 minutes or until golden brown, set aside the wonton wrappers still placed in the cups.

3.) In a medium-sized bowl, stir together the melted butter and hot sauce. Add the chicken and stir until well coated. Then fill each wonton cup with a tablespoon or two of chicken, and then top some of the shredded mozzarella cheese. Return wonton cups to oven and cook for another 5-10 minutes, or until cheese is soft and melted. Remove and top with about a tablespoon of blue cheese dressing, and then the sliced green scallions, and serve warm. These are best served immediately.

This entry was published on May 11, 2013 at 11:39 am. It’s filed under Appetizer, Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Wonton Cups

  1. Thank you, I appreciate it! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Buffalo Chicken Wonton Cups

  3. Pingback: Superbowl Sunday For the Hungry. | To Live Beautifully

Leave a Reply

