Strawberry White Chocolate Chip Muffins

Even though I do like savory more than sweet, I’m a sucker when it comes to a delicious muffin right out of the oven (and cookies too!). I can’t say I limit myself to just cookies and muffins though, but hey, everything in moderation. I was particularly drawn to this recipe because the strawberries are beginning to come out on the shelves and the farmer’s markets are popping up like dandelions. I also particularly appreciated the white chocolate chips, since I’ve never really made anything with them. Even though they’re not really chocolate, they have a taste to them that I love. I even ate a few out of the bag before making this…or twenty…

Image

The contrast of the white chocolate chips with the strawberries was rather refreshing for it was a change in scenery for me in the department of baked goods. When I eat sweets, chocolate is usually involved, dark chocolate at that too. The strawberries also kept the muffins nice and moist, which added to the yum factor.

Image

Now, the one thing that I disliked about this recipe was the use of sour cream. Even though it’s supposed to keep the muffins fluffy and prevent dryness, I couldn’t help but think of all those calories and fat! I usually don’t add sour cream, but instead substitute plain fat free Greek yogurt. I didn’t have that on hand so I used sour cream instead, and it turned out perfect – only I had to push the thought of the extra calories to the back of my mind. But that’s alright, that’s what gym memberships are for, the peace of mind that at any time you could go to the gym (I can’t say that happens too often though…everything in moderation, right?).

Image

Strawberry White Chocolate Chip Muffins

adapted from Will Cook for Smiles

Yields: ~20 muffins / Prep Time: 15 minutes / Bake Time: 25 – 30 minutes

Ingredients:

1 1/2 sticks of butter (12 tbs), room temperature
3/4 cup of dark brown sugar
1/3 cup of white sugar
3 eggs, room temperature
1/2 cup of milk
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup sour cream (substitute same amount with nonfat Greek yogurt for a healthier muffin)
2 1/2 cups of flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup chopped strawberries
1 cup of white chocolate chips

Instructions:

1.) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line muffin tins with cupcake liners.

2.) In a large mixing bowl, cream room temperature butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, combining fully after each egg. Then add vanilla, sour cream (or Greek yogurt) and milk. Beat together until fully incorporated.

3.) Sift in flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Mix together on low until just incorporated. Don’t over mix! Fold in strawberries.

4.) Fill muffin tins with batter until they are almost full. Then sprinkle the top of each with white chocolate chips.

5.) Bake for 25 – 30 minutes, until lightly golden brown on top. When a toothpick is inserted into the center of one, it should come out clean.

Enjoy!

This entry was published on May 14, 2013 at 9:31 pm. It’s filed under Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

