Cheddar Jalapeno Turkey Burgers

So, this might sound ridiculously crazy, but I’ve never made a burger from scratch. Feel free to judge me right now, I don’t even blame you. Frankly, I’ve been living the frozen burger life for most of my burger experiences. I’ll normally buy them in the freezer section or pre-made from the meat department from my local supermarket. I’ve seen dozens of Food Network shows and recipes on how to make them, but I’ve never gotten around to it.

Image

Now, I’m not a huge red meat fan, only because of how I was raised. I don’t consider myself vegetarian, but I prefer to eat mostly on vegetables and fruit. It’s only on rare occasions that I’ll eat red meat and that’s probably only if I get some odd craving. Thus I gravitate towards turkey or chicken burgers.

Making these burgers was a huge eye opening experience on what I’ve been missing out on! They compare nothing to frozen burgers, and I mean nothing! These turkey burgers turned out great and weren’t dry at all. I have to say, this was some ego boost on my part and I’ve given myself a pat on the back for this feat, as ridiculous as it sounds. Sometimes it’s the small things in life that are the best.

Image

I topped these burgers in a nontraditional way because I’m far from ordinary, let’s just admit it. I used hummus, spinach, tomatoes, and sliced avocado with Sriracha sauce to top it off – all on a whole wheat bun. I can’t stop saying this, but man was it a good burger, and I can’t wait to make these again during the summer.

Image

Cheddar Jalapeno Turkey Burgers

adapted from What’s Gaby Cooking

Yields 8 patties / Prep Time: 10 minutes / Cook Time: 10-14 minutes

Ingredients:

2 lbs ground turkey*
3/4 cup finely chopped yellow onion
2 teaspoons chopped jalapeño
1 tsp. powdered garlic
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp paprika
1/2 cup finely shredded cheddar cheese
kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper

* I mixed 99/1 with 96/4 to reduce the amount of fat in the burgers, but still keep the flavor. However it’s up to you on the lean to fat ratio.

Instructions:

1.) Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Use your hands (the best kitchen tool!) to thoroughly mix the ingredients into the turkey without over working the meat.

2.) Form mixture into 8, 1/2″ patties, depending on how thick and wide you prefer your burgers. Just make sure they’re all uniform so they all cook at the same time.

3.) Heat a grill pan or nonstick pan to medium heat with about a tablespoon of olive oil. This may be done on an outdoor grill as well.

4.) Cook burgers over medium heat for about 5-7 minutes on each side. Finish by topping with whatever you desire.

Enjoy!

This entry was published on May 21, 2013 at 11:04 pm. It’s filed under Dinner, Lunch and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

