Mixed Berry Granola Bars

I always like to have granola bars around because they’re so versatile – whether I need a snack, or a quick breakfast on the go. Lately though, I’ve been finding that the prices of granola bars have been increasing and most of them have a lot of preservatives. I’m trying to live at least as healthy as I can, so I decided to take a break from them.

Image

Then I figured that I could just make my own, cutting out the high fructose corn syrup and the preservatives. I’m pretty happy with this recipe because not only did it taste good, but it took next to no time to make. Although I made this recipe according to the directions, the next time I make it I’ll be sure to add a lot more ingredients. I especially think some flax seed or coconut flakes would be great additions.

Image

The only tip I have with these granola bars is to make sure you place some wax or parchment paper between each bar to keep them from sticking together. They also keep for a while too, about 2-3 weeks, but you’ll be out of them before that. The bars can be very filling, I’m usually content with one or two and they hold me over until my next meal.

Image

Image

Mixed Berry Granola Bars

adapted from Lisa’s Dinnertime Dish 

Yields ~24 bars / Prep Time: 15 minutes / Bake Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

2 cups oatmeal
1 cup sliced almonds
3 tbsp butter
2/3 cup honey
1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt
2 cups assorted dried berries (I used a combination of cherries, blueberries and cranberries)

1.) Preheat oven to 350F and line a rimmed 9×13 sheet pan or baking dish with parchment paper, set aside.

2.) Spread oatmeal and sliced almonds on a baking sheet. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes, stirring occasionally until toasted. Transfer into a large mixing bowl and reduce oven to 300F

3.) Combine butter, honey, brown sugar, vanilla and salt in a saucepan.  Bring to a boil and then cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly.

4.) Pour mixture over oatmeal and almonds.  Add dried fruit and stir until thoroughly combined, then pour mixture into prepared baking dish, flattening the mixture evenly into the pan.

5.) Bake for 25-30 minutes until golden brown.  Cool for at least 2-3 hours before cutting.  Once the bars are cool, remove from pan and cut into pieces.  Store at room temperature.

Enjoy!

This entry was published on May 24, 2013 at 11:37 pm. It’s filed under Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

